Select your Top Menu from wp menus
  • Instagram
  • TikTok
Ongandjera bid farewell to traditional leaders

Ongandjera bid farewell to traditional leaders

Maria David


HISTORY has been rewritten in Ongandjera after two senior and two junior traditional leaders requested the traditional authority to step down to pave the way for a new generation of young leaders.
In the past, traditional councillor leaders were appointed for life.


Normally the chosen leaders remained in their positions until death even if they could not physically function in the role.
Those that retired are long-serving elderly traditional councillors namely Petrus Kathingo, Martha Iileka, Hileni Uulenga and, Eliaser Shikambe.


Kathingo and Iileka are senior traditional councillors, while Kulenga and Shikambe are junior councillors.


Iileka was a senior councillor for Etilyasa (1995-2019), Kathingo was a senior councillor for Omuthitu (1976-2019), Uulenga was a junior councillor for Omukondo (1995—2020) and Shikambe was a junior councillor for Uuzilo (1997-2018).


  • Ongandjera bid farewell traditional leaders senior leaders traditional authority


They are to be replaced by Sakeus Shiimi Shangula, Sakeus Shimbay Amunyela and Heinrich Kefas. While Omukonda traditional district is yet to find a replacement for Uulenga.


There four retiring traditional leaders served the community of Ongandjera for between 21 and 43 years.


Bidding farewell to his four leaders King Johannes Mupiya presented each with a certificate of appreciation and gifted them a walking stick and a camping chair.


“The four leaders asked me to relieve them from their duties, which I couldn’t decline their request,” said Mupiya, adding that it was a historical event in Ongandjera and first ever in Namibia.


He said that the four people served the community since before independence during the time of the late Ongandjera King Jafet Malenga Muknkundi and continued until their retirement.


Ongandjera has six traditional districts which are Uuzilo, Uuninginino, Etilyasa, Omuthitu, Omukondo, and Okalili.


Related posts