Select your Top Menu from wp menus
  • Instagram
NPL to host awards

NPL to host awards

Aili Iilonga

THE Namibian Premier League (NPL) has once again announced that it will award best footballers and technical officials who have performed greatly during the 2018/19 season its upcoming award ceremony that will take place 15 June 2019.

Glitter & Glamor: NPL will host its annual awards this Saturday. Photo: Contributed

Initially, the awards were slated for last week Saturday, but according to the NPL’S spokesperson, Andre Gariseb, the Namibian Broadcasting Corporation (NBC) was double booked and thus the change in dates.

“It has nothing to do with internal issues. It was merely NBC who double booked and so we had to change the date,” he said.

The events aims to recognise, honour and coronate players during the 2018/19 season which includes accolades such as Player of the Season, Players Player of the Season, Coach of the Season and Referee of the Season.

Gariseb was speaking at a recent media briefing held in Windhoek where he ironed out some of the issues, and addresssed questions pertaining to the credibility of the selection process.

Currently, the NPL allows players, clubs, coaches and technical team to vote for the Players of the Season.

He, however, noted that the system will need adjusting for the next 2019/20 season to include the media, as one of the panelists in the selection process.

“Nominations in the individual categories were drawn from submissions by eligible Premiere League team coaches and captains, as well as from the Referees Association and Exco members who were mandated to elect candidate who they reckon achieved excellent results during the season,” he added.

Life Fighters’ Isaaskar Gurirab, who will debut at AFCON for the  Brave Warriors team, will be crowned top goal scorer of the season, while a battle for player of the season will be between Dynamo Fredericks, Gurirab and Wesley Katjiteo. Absalom Iimbondi, Katjiteo and Gurirab will contend for the Players Player of the Season award, while Fortune Eichab, Paulus Shipanga and Nicholas Woody Jacobs will battle it out for the Coach of the Season award.

Related posts