Select your Top Menu from wp menus
  • Instagram
Political candidates nominated for Swakopmund by-election

Political candidates nominated for Swakopmund by-election

Staff Reporter

THE Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) has announced the conclusion of the nomination process of different party representative candidates for the Regional Council by-election of Swakopmund Constituency, which is slated to take place on 12 August 2022. 

The nominated candidate for the United Democratic Front of Namibia (UDF) is Dantu Zerold, whilst Dausab Rodger is the selected candidate for the Namibia Economic Freedom Fighters (NEFF). 

Kativa Louisa will represent the Independent Patriots for Change (IPC), Musheka Tangeni will stand in for the Landless Peoples Movement, Salomon Nehemia for the SWAPO party, Von Seydlitz-Kurzbach for the United Peoples Movement and Pascheka Lelani for the Popular Democratic Movement (PDM).

Lastly Narib Williward will be running as an Independent Candidate. 

Theo Mujoro, the Chief Electoral Officer at the ECN shared that commission will now proceed with the invitation for companies to submit bids for the printing of ballot papers as per the guidelines of the Public Procurement Act. The awarding of the bid will take place on 18 July 2022. 

All nominated candidates will be invited to verify the correctness of the final ballot paper sample on 29 July 2022. 

With regards to the dispatch of sensitive election materials, Mujoro said all materials for the by-election will be dispatched between 5 and 6 August under strict security and escort of the Namibian police. The materials will be placed for safekeeping at a police station within the constituency. 

A Total number of 145 polling officials will be recruited to make up 29 Teams, 26 Fixed and 3 Mobile Teams for the conduct of the by-election. The training of political party agents and police officers will be conducted on the 4 to 5 August 2022, while training of polling officials for the by—election will be conducted between the 6 and 8 August 2022. 

Mujoro added that Supplementary Registration of Voters (SRV) exercise was successfully conducted from 6 to 8 June in terms of Section 38 (l) of the Electoral Act 5 of 2014. 

“The voters registered for the constituency prior to the conduct of the SRV stood at 35 281, while during the SRV a total number of 1 716 eligible voters registered consisting of new applications (713) and change of address (1003), bringing the provisional voters roll to a number of 36 997. A total number of 911 duplicate cards were issued during the SRV period,” Mujoro shared. 

In accordance with Section 49 of the Electoral Act, the voter education campaign for the upcoming by-election will be intensified from 18 July 2022. 

In an effort to boost voter participation and raise the voter turnout in the upcoming Swakopmund Constituency by-election, materials explaining the voting procedure, how to vote using ballot papers and the proper marking of ballot papers have been produced in various languages Mujoro shared. 

In addition to this, he noted that the ECN will utilize various media to maximize its outreach, including the Namibian Broadcasting Corporation (NBC) National language services plus its own website and social media platforms. 


File photo for illustrative purposes only.


Related posts