Select your Top Menu from wp menus
  • Instagram
Acting ministers appointed

Acting ministers appointed

Staff Reporter

FOLLOWING the public outcry over the appointment of Swapo Party spokesperson, Hilma Nicanor as a special advisor on veteran’s affairs in the Office of the Vice-President at the beginning of the month, no new appointments were made to fill the vacant ministerial positions after the resignation of Bernhard Esau, as the Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources and Sacky Shanghala as the Minister of Justice earlier on Wednesday.


Instead President Hage Geingob during an urgent meeting at State House appointed the current Minister of Home Affairs and Immigration, Frans Kapofi and the Attorney General, Albert Kawana to act as Minister of Justice and Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources with immediate effect. While acting in their new portfolios, both Minister Kapofi and Dr. Kawana will also still be responsible for their current portfolios.


The appointment of Minister Kapofi as the acting Minister of Justices and Dr. Kawana as the acting Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources was announced in a statement issued by State House.

Photo: Contributed

Following press and media reports in which allegations of corruption have been made against the two ministers, President Geingob accompanied by Vice-President Nangolo Mbumba held a meeting at State House with Shanghala and Esau to hear their case in light of the gravity of the reports.
Understanding the severity of the allegations in the press both Esau and Shanghala has tendered their resignation to the President with immediate effect.


Since assuming Office as President of the Republic of Namibia, Dr. Geingob has taken practical steps to promote Effective Governance, prioritizing the fight against corruption, promoting greater transparency and accountability.


Namibia is governed by the Rule of Law, and a person is innocent until proven guilty. The President is a promoter of Governance, grounded in processes, systems and institutions.


In order to fill the vacancies in both Ministries, President Geingob appointed the acting ministers in terms of Article 32 (3) (i)(dd) of the Constitution of the Republic of Namibia.


According to the statement Dr. Geingob thanked Shanghala and Esau for their patriotism and contribution to the work of Government.

Related posts