Select your Top Menu from wp menus
  • Instagram
Springboks will tackle Wales with third world cup in mind

Springboks will tackle Wales with third world cup in mind

Niël Terblanché

BOTH South Africa and Wales worked hard to reach the semi-final stage of the 2019 Rugby World Cup and both will be looking for a place in the final against England when they face off in Yokhama.


If Wales goes through it will be for the first time in their history. The Springboks on the other hand will aim to reach the final in order to lift the Webb Ellis Cup for a third time following their successes in 1995 and 2007
They reached the last four by beating hosts Japan in the quarter-final, with their only defeat of the tournament coming on opening weekend, against New Zealand.


Wales reached the last four despite an underwhelming performance against a 14 man France.


Historically, Wales have a poor record against the Springboks with just six wins in 35 attempts. The first did not come until 1999 and they have never triumphed over the Springboks on South African soil.



15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 George North, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Hadleigh Parkes, 11 Josh Adams, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Gareth Davies; 1 Wyn Jones, 2 Ken Owens, 3 Tomas Francis, 4 Jake Ball, 5 Alun Wyn Jones (c), 6 Aaron Wainwright, 7 Justin Tipuric, 8 Ross Moriarty.


Replacements: 16 Elliot Dee, 17 Rhys Carre, 18 Dillon Lewis, 19 Adam Beard, 20 Aaron Shingler, 21 Tomos Williams, 22 Rhys Patchell, 23 Owen Watkin.


South Africa

15 Willie le Roux, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Faf de Klerk; 1 Tendai Mtawarira, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 3 Frans Malherbe, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 5 Lood de Jager, 6 Siya Kolisi, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 8 Duane Vermeulen.


Replacements: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 RG Snyman, 20 Franco Mostert, 21 Francois Louw, 22 Herschel Jantjies, 23 Frans Steyn.

Related posts