Select your Top Menu from wp menus
  • Instagram
ECN urged candidates to campaign vigorously to avoid voter apathy

ECN urged candidates to campaign vigorously to avoid voter apathy

Maria David
THE Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) on Monday officially closed nomination process of candidates that would stand for the Oshakati East Constituency by-election, which is expected to take place on 24 August.
The ECN’s returning officer for the Oshakati East Constituency by-election, Efraim Iyambo, announced at the closing ceremony held at Ompundja that five parties has registered, with Fiina Kuutondokwa partaking in the election as an independent candidate.
The Congress of Democrats (CoD), Namibia Economic Freedom Fighters (NEFF) Popular Democratic Movement (PDM), South West Africa National Union (SWANU) and South West Africa People’s Organization (Swapo) are the political parties participating in the election.
Iyambo indicated that the candidates are Elias Iyambo for CoD, Festus Shaduva for NEFF, Theofelus Kamati for PDM, Rebbeka Kambayi for SWANU and Abner Shikongo for Swapo.
“Go and campaign vigorously so that we don’t have voters’ apathy like what happened during the Ondangwa Urban Constituency by-election,” Iyambo urged all the candidates.
He stated that candidate should not consider themselves as enemies but opponents with different ideas, as one need to have ideas in order to build something strong and lasting.
According to Iyambo, there will be 21 fixed polling stations throughout the constituency.
He pointed out that the training of election officials will take place from 16 to 22 August, while election materials from Windhoek will be delivered to constituency on 23 August.
The death of the former councillor, Lotto Kuushomwa, in May this year necessitated by-election in the Oshakati East Constituency.

Related posts