Select your Top Menu from wp menus
  • Instagram
SADC Food Security meeting botched

SADC Food Security meeting botched

Marthina Mutanga
The SADC meeting that is underway in Windhoek did not get off to a good start as some delegates did not attend as they should have.
Margreth Kalo the Ministry of Agriculture water and Forestry spokesperson said the summit is a closed door affair and that the public and the media will only be allowed to attend on Friday.
The meeting is to review food security situation in the SADC region following challenges due to natural disasters such as drought, flood caused by extreme weather systems, outbreaks of trans- boundary pests as well as animals and plant disease.
The Executive Director Officer of the Ministry of Agriculture Water and Forestry Percy Missika said the meeting is to discuss impact of climate change on ocean and coastal governance with an emphasis on protecting marine environment and it biodiversity.
Missika noted that they are also consider aquaculture, inland fisheries impacts of illegal, unregulated and unreported (IUU) fishing, harmful fishing subsidies and impact of pollution and climate change on fisheries in SADC region.
The Ministry of Agriculture Water and Forestry (MAWF) in collaboration with the Ministry of Fisheries and Marine Resources (MFR) and Southern Africa Development Community SADC are hosting the summit for SADC Ministers responsible for Agriculture, Food Security Fisheries and Aquaculture.
“Delegates to the summit will discuss the situation where people currently face a humanitarian crisis due to the impact of two cyclones, Idai and Kenneth,” said Missika.
He said they will also review the implementation of the Regional Agricultural Policy (RAP) and its related programs, which includes food security, livestock, and crops fisheries.
The meeting will also deliberate on the sectors contribution towards the implementation of the SADC industrialization strategy and regional strategies on water- energy –food (WEF) interconnections.
Ministers from Angola, Bostwana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, eSwatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Maurituis, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbambwe will attend the summit.

Related posts