Select your Top Menu from wp menus
Latest News
USA wins Women’s World Cup for record fourth time

USA wins Women’s World Cup for record fourth time

  • 66160958_2333708230029457_8602701618510561280_n
  • 66200398_2333709393362674_3925533639630127104_n
  • 66302105_2333708663362747_2752448693792669696_n
  • 66458627_2333708560029424_3088338883214049280_n
  • 66463379_2333708800029400_8693563867860566016_n
  • 66499120_2333708200029460_2498076975059435520_n

Sports Reporter
The USA have won the Women’s World Cup for the fourth time after beating the Netherlands 2-0 in Sunday’s final.
Megan Rapinoe opened the scoring with a second-half penalty, which was awarded by the VAR after Stefanie van der Gragt brought down Alex Morgan.
Rose Lavelle then made certain of the victory with a powerful strike from the edge of the area.
Rapinoe’s goal also meant she won the Golden Boot after finishing with six goals and three assists.
The USA’s triumph adds to previous World Cup victories in 1991, 1999 and 2015.
The Netherlands, in the final for the first time in their history, had done well to frustrate the USA for long periods before they finally made the breakthrough, with goalkeeper Sari van Veenendaal making a string of fine saves in the first half.
Van Veenendaal also prevented the USA from winning by a bigger margin as she denied Morgan and Crystal Dunn late on.