Select your Top Menu from wp menus
  • Instagram
Namibia head to head with Senegal on Saturday

Namibia head to head with Senegal on Saturday

Marthina Mutanga


NAMIBIAN football sensation and striker for South African Premier Division side Mamelodi Sundowns, Peter Shalulile, will lead the country’s attempt to qualify for the FIFA world cup.


Namibia Brave Warriors will face Senegal at the Stade Lat Dior Stadium in Thies in an away game on Saturday, 9 October, with a second game scheduled for Tuesday, 12 October, at the Orlando Stadium in Soweto in the return leg of Group H.


Speaking from Johannesburg, Coach Bobby Samaria said that the Brave Warriors will leave for Senegal today, but will return to Johannesburg on 10 October to prepare for Tuesday’s game.



Samaria said after the two games against Senegal, the Brave Warriors will next travel to Congo and host Togo as the group action concludes between 13 and 16 November.


The top team from Group H will join nine other winners for the second round of the qualifiers, who will be drawn into five home-and-away ties.


The winners of each tie will advance to the Fifa World Cup, scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022.


”We came here to intensify preparations for the Senegal games and with the setting and players coming in, we can only get to do what we are planning,” explained Samaria, adding that “these two games are very key to how we proceed in the qualifiers. It’s a crucial four or more pointier for us and then anything can happen.”


Senegal is leading Group H with six points, with Namibia second with four points, which is three points ahead of Congo in third place and Togo with no points.


The 28 men squad consists of:
Goalkeepers: Calvin Spiegel, Kamaijanda Ndisiro, Lodyt Kazapua, Maximilian Mbaeva, and Virgil Vries

Defenders: Ryan Nyambe, Riaan Hanamub, Ivan Kamberipa, Gebhardt Ananias, Larry Horaeb, Teberius Lombardt, Approcius Petrus, Denzil Haoseb, Charles Hambira and Immanuel Heita

Midfielders: Dynamo Fredericks, Alfeus Handura, Deon Hotto, Absalom Iimbondi, Wesley Katjiteo, Marcel Papama, Prins Tjiueza and Willy Stephanus

Forwards: Elmo Kambindu, Issaskar Gurirab, Peter Shalulile, Joslin Kamatuka, Benson Shilongo


Related posts