Select your Top Menu from wp menus
  • Instagram
  • TikTok
Task Force must find opportunities

Task Force must find opportunities

Staff Reporter


OPPORTUNITIES for Namibia in the Fourth Industrial Revolution must be found by a newly formed task force that was appointed by the Namibian Head of Sate.


In this regard, President Hage Geingob has appointed Professor Anicia Peters (Pro-Vice Chancellor, University of Namibia), Dr. Erold Naomab (Vice Chancellor, Namibia University of Science and Technology), Grace Hamauka (Senior Economist, Bank of Namibia), Dino Balloti (SME Development, NIPDB), Professor Kenneth Matengu (Vice Chancellor, University of Namibia), Nashilongo Gervasius (Internet Society of Namibia), Professor Tshilidzi Marwala (Vice Chancellor, University of Johannesburg), and Dr. Martyn Davies (Managing Director, Deloitte, Africa and Emerging Markets) as the team that has the responsibility to harness the opportunities locked up in the phenomenon of the convergence of technologies.


According to a statement issued by the Namibian Presidency, the establishment of the Task Force is informed by the fact that the world has undergone a paradigm shift with the convergence of technologies, requiring deeper understanding of the disruptive impact of the Fourth Industrial Revolution on society.


In establishing the Task Force, President Geingob is also fulfilling a commitment made during the 2021 State of the Nation Address.


Task Force Namibia Fourth Industrial Revolution task force appointed Namibian


In the appointment letter to members of the Task Force, President Hage G. Geingob wrote: “The establishment of a 4IR Task Force is set out under the Economic Advancement Pillar of the Harambee Prosperity Plan II. This Task Force will be required to conduct a country assessment to determine the readiness of Namibia for 4IR, and make recommendations towards a coordinated and coherent policy and legislative framework. Moreover, the Task Force should assist Government in harnessing the full potential presented by the confluence of technologies for the Future of Work and the socio-economic development of Namibia.”


The 4IR Task Force is comprised of members drawn from academia, the private sector and civil society and will also draw on expertise from within key Government Offices, Ministries and Agencies. The Task Force is chaired by Prof. Anicia Peters, Pro-Vice Chancellor: Research, Innovation & Development at the University of Namibia. The work of the Task Force is pro-bono and the members will serve for a period of twelve months, effective 01 July 2021 to 30 June 2022.


According to the statement, President Geingob expressed confidence and trust in the ability, diligence and professionalism with which the members of the Task Force will execute this important national undertaking and within the available time-frame of 12 months.


Related posts