Select your Top Menu from wp menus
  • Instagram
JJ Smit rated all-time best

JJ Smit rated all-time best

Aili Iilonga

JJ Smit was the biggest winner of the night when he won three awards, including the sportsman of the year trophy at the recently held Wanderers Cricket Club annual prize-giving ceremony.
He also won the best all-rounder award and the best fielder award to complete this season’s great performance, as well as personal best performance for Wanderers.
He was a key player in his team’s success that saw it winning the Premier League title for the second time in a row.
During the final game of the premier league against Windhoek High School, he scored 60 not outs, and took two wickets over 38 runs to help his team win the match by seven wickets.

Nationally, he helped the Namibia men’s cricket team to win the World Cricket League Division 2 tournament, which was held in the Capital in April.
At the time, he also won the player of the tournament award after scoring 221 runs at an average of 55.25 and taking 13 wickets at an average of 14.53.
Other players and coaching staff were also awarded on the night.
Wessel Myburgh won the Premier League best batsman award after scoring a total of 575 runs at an average of 44.23, with a top score of 101 against Tigers.
Bernanrd Scholtz won the premier league best bowler award after taking 20 wickets at an average score of 17.15 and a personal best performance of three wickets for 37 runs against Trustco United.
Thalia Louw won the best administrator of the year award and Wessel Myburgh Snr won the most loyal support’s award.

Related posts