Select your Top Menu from wp menus
  • Instagram
Oshana elects candidates to the “pot”

Oshana elects candidates to the “pot”

Maria David

The Swapo Party in the Oshana Region has elected its two candidates and four delegates to participate in the upcoming party Electoral College this weekend.
The six were elected during the region’s extra-ordinary conference held on Thursday.
The two candidates are Werner Iita and Katrina Shimbulu.
Iita received 53 out of 78 votes in the male group, while Shimbulu won 47 votes in the female group, with five spoiled ballots counted.
Iita currently serves as the Chief Executive Officer of Oshakati Town Council, while Simbulu serve as the as Chairperson of the Management Committee.

The two candidates took the spot to the college, also known as the “pot”.
Swapo party coordinator in the Oshana Region, Samuel Nelongo, said the elections went well and the members behaved themselves very well.
The delegates to represent Oshana at the electoral college are Governor Elia Irimari who won with 52 votes, Sem Nangolo who got 37 votes in the male groups, Magdalena Hango won with 44 votes and Selma Iipumbu scooped 42 votes, with a total of nine spoiled ballots.
The six travelled to Windhoek to participate in the Electoral College in Windhoek on where the party will elect 96 members for the Presidential and National Assembly (NA) elections later this year.
The college will have over 200 delegates who will convene to decide on the party’s list for the next National Assembly and in which order they will be placed on the list.

Related posts