Select your Top Menu from wp menus
  • Instagram
Oshakati East by-election builds up steam

Oshakati East by-election builds up steam

Placido Hilukilwa
SEVERAL candidates are lining up to participate in the coming by-elections in the Oshakati East constituency of the Oshana region.
The 15th of July is the deadline for the submission of names of candidates to the Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN).
One independent candidate and several political parties have so far hinted that they will be vying for the seat left vacant when Lotto Kuushomwa – who was the constituency councillor since 2010 – passed away on 27 May this year.
The political parties that have already revealed their intention to participate include the Namibia Economic Freedom Fighters (NEFF), the All people’s Party (APP), the Popular Democratic Movement (PDM) .
During the regional elections of 2015 the Oshakati East constituency had 17,630 registered voters of which only 5,881 (33.4%) went to the polls giving Swapo’s Kuushomwa a total of 5,559 votes, followed by the DTA/PDM’s Andreas Daniel with 241 votes.
Shiwayu Natangwe of the Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) obtained 81 votes.
Efraim Iiyambo has been appointed as the Returning Officer for the Oshakati East Constituency by-election which takes place on the 24th of August.

Related posts