Select your Top Menu from wp menus
  • Instagram
Sri Lanka defeats the Windies

Sri Lanka defeats the Windies

  • 62337907_2323662784367335_4246971624877719552_n
  • 65502491_2323662357700711_2433145668068442112_n
  • 65502491_2323663111033969_869383040923598848_n
  • 65511913_2323662861033994_2059865529182584832_n
  • 65557106_2323663054367308_2937098834020401152_n
  • 65566210_2323662541034026_6669170568064925696_n
  • 65592835_2323663007700646_3847997445438963712_n
  • 65594595_2323662711034009_6010316584789213184_n
  • 65596943_2323662571034023_8565468718820229120_n
  • 65633795_2323662337700713_3759943116858064896_n
  • 65634442_2323662961033984_8198274290894766080_n
  • 65758428_2323663174367296_596297711595028480_n
  • 65930407_2323662347700712_8235727664141303808_n
  • 66042694_2323662561034024_4313866088405270528_n
  • 66141807_2323662751034005_4911262422569844736_n

Sports Reporter
West Indies fell 23 runs short of a record Cricket World Cup run chase despite a magnificent 118 runs from Nicholas Pooran against Sri Lanka at Chester-le-Street.
Both teams began the match knowing they could not qualify for the semi-finals but produced a classic encounter.
Sri Lanka started off with a bang with their opening batsmen Dimuth Karunaratne and Kusal Perera had a brilliant start by.
A maiden century by the 21-year old Avishka Fernando and supporting knocks by Kusal Mendis Lahiru Thirimanne, saw Sri Lanka reaching a total of 338/6 after 50 overs.
Jason Holder took two wickets, while Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas, and Fabian Allen took one wicket each.
After starting off slow and losing wickets in a hurry, the West Indies were stabilised by Nicholas Pooran’s knock coming in at number five. His maiden century of 118 from just 103 balls kept the Windies in the fight right till the death overs.
Fabian Allen scored a half-century too, which brought them close to a World Cup record run chase of 339.
Sri Lanka bowled well towards the end dismissing both the men in form, and restricted West Indies to 315/9 after 50 overs. Lasith Malinga bagged 3 wickets while Kasun Rajitha, Jeffrey Vandersay and Angelo Matthews got one wicket each.

Related posts